CAERPHILLY COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

NOTICE OF THE DECISIONS FROM THE ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 13TH MAY 2021 AT 5.00P.M.

PRESENT:

Councillors: M. Adams, E.M. Aldworth, C. Andrews, A. Angel, A. Collis, S. Cook, C. Cuss, W. David, M. Davies, T. Davies, K. Dawson N. Dix, C. Elsbury, K. Etheridge, M. Evans, A. Farina-Childs, C. Forehead, J.E. Fussell, A. Gair, J. Gale, N. George, C. Gordon, R. Gough, L. Harding, D. Harse, D. Havard, A. Higgs, A. Hussey, V. James, L. Jeremiah, G. Johnston, B. Jones, S. Kent, G. Kirby, A. Leonard, P. Leonard, C. Mann, P. Marsden, B. Miles, S. Morgan, G. Oliver, B. Owen, T. Parry, L. Phipps, D. Poole, D. Preece, D. Price, J. Pritchard, J. Ridgewell, R. Saralis, M.E. Sargent, J. Simmonds, G. Simmonds, S. Skivens, E. Stenner, J. Taylor, C. Thomas, A. Whitcombe, R. Whiting, L. Whittle, T. Williams, W. Williams, B. Zaplatynski.

Officers: C. Harrhy (Chief Executive), R. Tranter (Head of Legal Services and Monitoring Officer), D. Street (Corporate Director Social Services and Housing), R. Edmunds (Corporate Director Education and Corporate Services), M.S. Williams (Corporate Director Economy and Environment), L. Lane (Head of Democratic Services and Deputy Monitoring Officer) and E. Sullivan (Senior Committee Services Officer)

APOLOGIES:

Councillors: J. Bevan, P. Bevan, Bezzina, B. Jones and D. Hardacre

The decisions and declarations of interest are set out below. For further details please refer to the relevant report.

The full individual voting result on all items can be found with the Council Agenda on the Caerphilly County Borough <u>Website</u>:

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
2.	Declarations of Interest	No declarations of interest were received	No vote required
3.	To note that the Mayor and Deputy Mayor had been appointed until the Annual Meeting in 2022 and the payment of a senior salary.	Councillor Carol Andrews and Councillor June Gale were noted as Mayor and Deputy Mayor and would receive a senior salary payment.	No vote required
4.	Mayors Remarks	Noted	No vote required
5.	To note the appointment of the Leader of Council and note the payment of a senior salary	Councillor Philippa Marsden was noted as the Leader of Council and would receive a senior salary payment.	No vote required
6.	To note the appointment of a Deputy Leader and note the payment of a senior salary	Councillor Sean Morgan was noted as Deputy Leader and would receive a senior salary payment.	No vote required

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
7.	To note the number of Members to be appointed to the Cabinet, the names the Leader has chosen to become Members of the Cabinet and their portfolios and the payment of senior salaries.	The Leader confirmed that there would be 9 Cabinet Members. Councillor Sean Morgan was appointed as Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Economy, Enterprise, and Infrastructure Councillor Colin Gordon was appointed as Cabinet Member for Corporate Services. Councillor Shayne Cook was appointed as Cabinet Member for Social Care Councillor Andrew Whitcombe was appointed as Cabinet Member for Sustainability, Planning and Fleet Councillor Lisa Phipps was appointed as Cabinet Member for Housing Councillor Nigel George was appointed as Cabinet Member for Waste, Public Protection and Street Scene Councillor Eluned Stenner was appointed as Cabinet Member for Customer, Performance and Property Services Councillor Ross Whiting was appointed as Cabinet Member for Learning and Leisure It was noted that each would receive a senior salary payment.	No vote required
8.	Leaders Statement	Noted	No vote required
9.	To note the appointment of a Leader of the main opposition group and the payment of a senior salary	It was noted that Councillor Colin Mann had been appointed as Leader of the main opposition group and would receive a senior salary payment	No vote required
10.	Review of Political Balance	The report was noted	No vote required
11.	To appoint the Chair and Vice Chair and Members of serve on overview and scrutiny committees until the next Annual Meeting (in accordance with the political balance) and to note the senior salary payment to the Chairs	It was moved and seconded that the appointments be made as confirmed at the meeting, in the lists attached and provided to Committee Services, subject to an amendment in the membership of the Environment and Sustainability Scrutiny Committee in that Cllr John Ridgewell would replace	62 For 00 Against 3 Abstain

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
		Cllr Andrew Whitcombe and by way of Microsoft Forms and verbal confirmation this was agreed by the majority present.	
		RESOLVED that:-	
		Councillor T. Parry be appointed Chair and Councillor C. Andrews to appointed Vice Chair of the Education Scrutiny Committee.	
		Councillor D. Cushing be appointed Chair and Councillor C. Bezzina be appointed Vice Chair of the Social Services Scrutiny Committee.	
		Councillor J. Pritchard be appointed Chair and Councillor G. Kirby be appointed Vice Chair of the Policy and Resources Scrutiny Committee.	
		Councillor D.T. Davies be appointed Chair and Councillor A. Hussy be appointed Vice Chair of the Environment and Sustainability Scrutiny Committee.	
		Councillor J. Ridgewell be appointed Chair and Councillor M. Adams be appointed Vice Chair of the Housing and Regeneration Scrutiny Committee	
		It was noted that the Chairs would receive a senior salary payment	
12.	To Appoint Chair and/or Vice Chair and Members to serve on the following Committees until the next Annual Meetings and to note the senior salary payments to the Chairs marked with * (in accordance with the political balance, as list attached)	It was moved and seconded that the appointments be made as confirmed at the meeting, as in the lists attached and provided to Committee Services and by way of Microsoft Forms and verbal confirmation this was agreed by the majority present.	59 For 00 Against 03 Abstain
	Appeals Panel	RESOLVED that: -	
	Appointments Committee *Governance and Audit Committee Democratic Services Committee Investigating and Disciplinary Committee *Licensing and Gambling/Taxi and General Committee *Planning Committee Standards Committee	Councillor J. Simmonds be appointed Chair of the Licensing and Gambling/Taxi and General Committee and Councillor W. Williams be appointed Vice Chair.	
		Councillor R. Saralis be appointed Chair of the Planning Committee and Councillor E.M. Aldworth be appointed Vice Chair	

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
		Councillor M.E. Sargent be appointed Chair of the Governance and Audit Committee.	
		It was noted that the Chairs would receive a senior salary payment.	
13	To note that the Chair and Vice Chair of the Governance and Audit Committee will be appointed at the first meeting following the Annual Meeting of Council	Noted	No vote required
14	To constitute Sub Committees/ Working Parties/Panels/Boards and Members to serve on them and to appoint/nominate representatives to serve on Outside Bodies where required (lists attached)	It was moved and seconded that the membership lists as detailed be approved and by way of Microsoft Forms and verbal confirmation this was agreed by the majority present. RESOLVED that the Sub Committee/ Working Parties/Panels/Board be constituted and Representatives to serve on Outside Bodies be appointed as list attached and names provided to Committee Services.	55 For 00 Against 06 Abstain

Circulation:

Published Electronically by 5.00pm on Friday 21st May 2021